Home Film A Release Date Guide for Every 2022 Film

A Release Date Guide for Every 2022 Film

by Andrew J. Salazar
A film collage of the most anticipated films of 2022, including SCREAM, THE BATMAN, UNCHARTED, JACKASS FOREVER, TURNING RED, SONIC THE HEDGEHOG 2, and SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE (PART ONE).

2022 is shaping up to be the most jam-packed year for film that we’ve seen for some time. Rollover from the ongoing pandemic is one of the biggest reasons why. Some long-awaited fan favorites, such as The Batman and Jurassic World Dominion, will finally have their time to shine after numerous delays. Joining them will be more heavy hitters that are expected to smash new box office records. We’re of course talking about the highly anticipated sequels Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, and Avatar 2. But just like any year, cinema’s offerings are greatly varied in genre and size.

Horror lovers can look forward to new chapters in the Scream and Texas Chainsaw Massacre franchises, as well as Jordan Peele’s next original film Nope. Fans of high-stake action and adventure have Uncharted, Top Gun: Maverick, and Bullet Train to be excited for. Animation is also in no shortage with two new films from Pixar, Turning Red and Lightyear, along with Puss in Boots: The Last Wish and Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Part One). And if it wasn’t already obvious, 2022 will be yet another massive year for comic-book films. This year’s lineup, from Marvel, DC, and beyond, is nothing short of spectacular.

As always, DiscussingFilm provides a release date guide for every 2022 film for your convenience. This page will be updated frequently with new releases and date changes as soon as they’re announced. At the very top, you’ll find films that are confirmed for 2022 but are without exact release dates at the moment, followed by those that were originally supposed to premiere this year which have been now pushed to 2023. The theatrical landscape is still adapting and shifting in the face of COVID, so only time will tell how this list will look throughout the year. When checking the guide, you’ll see which films are debuting on which streaming services as indicated. All theatrical titles are released nationwide in 2022 unless labeled LIMITED, which means fewer theaters but VOD may be available simultaneously – make sure to double-check your options as they vary per film.

The 2022 DF Film Guide

The following films are expected for 2022 but not yet dated

Cocaine Bear – TBD
Cheaper by the Dozen (Disney+) – TBD
Deep Water (Hulu) – TBD
Disenchanted (Disney+) – TBD
Hocus Pocus 2 (Disney+) – TBD
Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple TV+) – TBD
Knives Out 2 (Netflix) – TBD
Monkey Man (Netflix) – TBD
Pinocchio (Disney+) – TBD
Pinocchio (Netflix) – TBD
The Nightingale – TBD
The School for Good and Evil (Netflix) – TBD
The Sea Beast (Netflix) – TBD
Three Men and a Baby (Disney+) – TBD
Under the Boardwalk – TBD

The following films have been pushed to new dates in 2023

Dungeons & Dragons – March 3, 2023
Indiana Jones 5 – June 30, 2023
John Wick: Chapter 4 – March 24, 2023
Mission: Impossible 7 – July 14, 2023
The Marvels – February 17, 2023
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Animated – August 4, 2023
Transformers: Rise of the Beasts – June 9, 2023
Untitled A Quiet Place Film – September 22, 2023

The following 2023 films have been pushed to 2024

Mission: Impossible 8 – June 28, 2024

January

The iconic Ghostface killer returns in the 2022 film SCREAM.
‘Scream’ courtesy of Paramount

Friday January 7

A Hero (Limited)
See for Me (Limited)
The 355
The Commando (Limited)
The Legend of La Llorona

Friday January 14

Belle
Hotel Transylvania: Transformania (Prime Video)
Italian Studies (Limited)
Scream
Shattered (Limited)
The Pink Cloud (Limited)
The Tragedy of Macbeth (Apple TV+)

Thursday January 20

The Royal Treatment (Netflix)

Friday January 21

Cyrano (Limited)
Munich: The Edge of War (Netflix)
The King’s Daughter
Warhunt (Limited)

Wednesday January 26

Compartment No. 6

Thursday January 27

The Fallout (HBO Max)

Friday January 28

Clean (Limited)
Home Team (Netflix)
Sundown (Limited)
The Ice Age Adventures of Buck Wild (Disney+)
The Requin (Limited)

February

The one and only Jackass crew lead by Johnny Knoxville return once more in the 2022 film JACKASS FOREVER.
‘Jackass Forever’ courtesy of Paramount

Friday February 4

Jackass Forever
Book of Live (Prime Video)
Last Looks (Limited)
Moonfall
The Worst Person In The World (Limited)
The Wolf and the Lion (Limited)

Thursday February 10

KIMI (HBO Max)

Friday February 11

Blacklight
Catch the Fair One (Limited)
Death on the Nile
Here Before (Limited)
I Want You Back (Prime Video)
Marry Me
Tall Girl 2 (Netflix)
The Sky Is Everywhere (Apple TV+)
What About Love

Friday February 18

A Banquet (Limited)
Dog
Pursuit (Limited)
Sneakerella (Disney+)
Strawberry Mansion (Limited)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre (Netflix)
The Last Bus (Limited)
Uncharted

Friday February 25

Big Gold Brick (Limited)
The Devil’s Light
The Outfit
Mothering Sunday (Limited)
Studio 666 (Limited)

March

Robert Pattinson as Batman and Zoë Kravitz as Catwoman lock eyes in the 2022 film THE BATMAN.
‘The Batman’ courtesy of Warner Bros.

Friday March 4

Fresh (Hulu)
Huda’s Salon (Limited)
The Batman
Tyson’s Run

Friday March 11

Fear (Limited)
Offseason (Limited)
Turning Red (Disney+)
The Adam Project (Netflix)

Friday March 18

Alice (Limited)
Downton Abbey: A New Era
Expired (Limited)
Operation Fortune: Ruse de guerre
The Unbreakable Boy
X

Thursday March 24

Moonshot (HBO Max)

Friday March 25

Everything Everywhere All At Once (Limited)
The Duke (Limited)
The Lost City

April

Knuckles the echidna voices by Idris Elba stops Sonic the Hedgehog in electric rolling ball form  with one hand in style in the 2022 film SONIC THE HEDGEHOG 2.
‘Sonic the Hedgehog 2’ courtesy of Paramount

Friday April 1

Easter Sunday
Morbius
You Won’t Be Alone

Friday April 8

Ambulance
Sonic the Hedgehog 2

Friday April 15

Chariot (Limited)
Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore
Paris, 13th District (Limited)
Thirteen Lives

Friday April 22

The Bad Guys
The Northman
The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

Friday April 29

65
Memory

May

Wanda Maximoff meditates and levitates around burning candles in her new Scarlet Witch costume in the 2022 film DOCTOR STRANGE IN THE MULTIVERSE OF MADNESS.
‘Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness’ courtesy of Disney

Friday May 6

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness 
Happening (Limited)
Mrs. Harris Goes To Paris

Friday May 20

DC League of Super-Pets 

Friday May 27

The Bob’s Burgers Movie
Top Gun: Maverick

June

The iconic Tyrannosaurs Rex roars and wreaks havoc in front of a drive-in movie theater in the 2022 film JURASSIC WORLD DOMINION.
Jurassic World Dominion’ courtesy of Universal

Friday June 10

Jurassic World Dominion

Friday June 17

Lightyear
Oh Hell No

Friday June 24

Elvis
The Black Phone
Where the Crawdads Sing

Wednesday June 29

Shotgun Wedding

July

Dwayne The Rock Johnson finally arrives as the mighty DC anti-hero in the 2022 film BLACK ADAM.
‘Black Adam’ courtesy of Warner Bros.

Friday July 1

Minions: The Rise of Gru

Friday July 8

Thor: Love and Thunder

Friday July 15

Bed Rest
Bullet Train

Friday July 22

Blazing Samurai
Nope

Friday July 29

Black Adam

August

‘The Man From Toronto’ courtesy of Sony

Friday August 5

Secret Headquarters

Friday August 12

Bros
The Man From Toronto
Secret Headquarters

Friday August 19

Beast

Friday August 26

Samaritan

Wednesday August 31

On a Wing and a Prayer

September

‘Don’t Worry Darling’ courtesy of Warner Bros.

Friday September 9

Dark Harvest
Salem’s Lot

Friday September 16

Distant
The Woman King
White Bird: A Wonder Story

Friday September 23

Don’t Worry Darling
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish

October

Miles Morales swings across a neon colorful backdrop in the 2022 film SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE (PART ONE).
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Part One)’ courtesy of Sony

Friday October 7

Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Part One) 
TÁR (Limited)
Till (Limited)

Friday October 14

Halloween Ends

Friday October 21

Ticket to Paradise

November

Ezra Miller stands between an alternate version of himself and an alternate version of Supergirl in the 2022 film THE FLASH.
‘The Flash’ courtesy of Warner Bros.

Friday November 4

The Flash
Untitled David O. Russell project

Friday November 11

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Friday November 18

Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile
She Said

Wednesday November 23 (Thanksgiving)

Creed III
Strange World
The Fabelmans

December

Concept art of Pandora from the highly-anticipated 2022 film AVATAR 2.
‘Avatar 2’ concept art courtesy of 20th Century Studios

Friday December 2

Violent Night

Friday December 16

Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom
Avatar 2

Wednesday December 21

Super Mario Bros.

Friday December 23

 I Wanna Dance With Somebody

December 25 (Christmas)

Babylon

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram for all release date updates in real time!

Follow managing editor Andrew J. Salazar on Twitter: @AndrewJ626

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: