Home » BAFTAs 2022: The Final Predictions

BAFTAs 2022: The Final Predictions

by Ben Rolph
The prestigious golden mask handed out to winners at the BAFTAs!

The 75th Annual British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs) are being announced this weekend, so here are Senior Film Critics Ben Rolph and Yasmine Kandil’s predictions for who is in the running to win (and who they consider a runner up that could still possibly take the award over the predicted winner). The 2022 BAFTAs is set to host many stars and filmmakers after last year’s partially online awards ceremony, with the big awards being handed out at the traditional go-to venue, London’s Royal Albert Hall.

The nominations are quite the diverse range of picks, but the one category that is an absolute mystery and has fascinated awards pundits is Best Actress which has nothing in common with this year’s Oscar nominations. Who will win; House of Gucci‘s Lady Gaga or The Worst Person in the World‘s Renate Reinsve? We’re excited to share our predictions with you today and to inform you of winners, when they are announced on Sunday March 13, which will be updated live on DiscussingFilm.

BAFTA Predictions 2022

Best Film

WINNER: Belfast
RUNNER UP: The Power of the Dog
Licorice Pizza
Don’t Look Up

Outstanding British Film

WINNER: After Love
RUNNER UP: Boiling Point
Ali & Ava
No Time To Die
Last Night in Soho
House of Gucci
Everybody’s Talking About Jaime

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

WINNER: Boiling Point, James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
RUNNER UP: After Love, Aleem Khan (writer/director)
The Harder They Fall, Jeymes Samuel (writer/director) [Also written by Boaz Yakin]
Passing, Rebecca Hall (writer/director)
Keyboard Fantasies, Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)

Best Film Not In The English Language

WINNER: Drive My Car
RUNNER UP: The Worst Person In The World
Petite Maman
Parallel Mothers
The Hand Of God

Best Documentary

RUNNER UP: Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
The Rescue
Becoming Cousteau

Best Animated Film

WINNER: Encanto
The Mitchells Vs The Machines

Best Director

WINNER: The Power Of The Dog, Jane Campion
RUNNER UP: Drive My Car, Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Titane, Julia Ducournau
Licorice Pizza, Paul Thomas Anderson
After Love, Aleem Khan
Happening, Audrey Diwan

Best Original Screenplay

WINNER: Belfast
RUNNER UP: Being the Ricardos
Licorice Pizza
King Richard
Don’t Look Up

Best Adapted Screenplay

WINNER: The Power of the Dog
Drive My Car
The Lost Daughter

Best Actress

WINNER: Lady Gaga, House Of Gucci
RUNNER UP: Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person In The World
Joanna Scanlan, After Love
Emilia Jones, Coda
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
Tessa Thompson, Passing

Best Actor

WINNER: Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power Of The Dog
RUNNER UP: Will Smith, King Richard
Stephen Graham, Boiling Point
Adeel Akhtar, Ali & Ava
Leonardo Dicaprio, Don’t Look Up
Mahershala Ali, Swan Song

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Ariana Debose, West Side Story
RUNNER UP: Caitríona Balfe, Belfast
Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Ruth Negga, Passing
Ann Dowd, Mass
Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Troy Kotsur, Coda
RUNNER UP: Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The Power Of The Dog
Jesse Plemons, The Power Of The Dog
Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
Mike Faist, West Side Story
Woody Norman, C’mon C’mon

Best Original Score

WINNER: Dune, Hans Zimmer
RUNNER UP: The Power Of The Dog, Jonny Greenwood
Being The Ricardos, Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up, Nicholas Britell
The French Dispatch, Alexandre Desplat

Best Casting

WINNER: Dune, Francine Maisler
RUNNER UP: Boiling Point, Carolyn Mcleod
West Side Story, Cindy Tolan
The Hand Of God, Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard, Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman

Best Cinematography

WINNER: Dune, Greig Fraser
RUNNER UP: The Power Of The Dog, Ari Wegner
Nightmare Alley, Dan Laustsen
The Tragedy Of Macbeth, Bruno Delbonnel
No Time To Die, Linus Sandgren

Best Editing

WINNER: Dune, Joe Walker
RUNNER UP: No Time To Die, Tom Cross, Elliot Graham
Licorice Pizza, Andy Jurgensen
Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised), Joshua L. Pearson
Belfast, Úna Ní Dhonghaíle

Best Production Design

WINNER: Nightmare Alley, Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
RUNNER UP: West Side Story, Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Dune, Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos
Cyrano, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
The French Dispatch, Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Best Costume Design

WINNER: Cruella, Jenny Beavan
RUNNER UP: Dune, Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
Nightmare Alley, Luis Sequeira
Cyrano, Massimo Cantini Parrini
The French Dispatch, Milena Canonero

Best Makeup and Hair

WINNER: The Eyes Of Tammy Faye, Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh
RUNNER UP: House Of Gucci, Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno
Cruella, Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Dune, Love Larson, Donald Mowat
Cyrano, Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller

Best Sound

WINNER: Dune, Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett
RUNNER UP: No Time To Die, James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II, Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
Last Night In Soho, Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
West Side Story, Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best Visual Effects

WINNER: Dune, Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer
RUNNER UP: No Time To Die, Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble
Free Guy, Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
The Matrix Resurrections, Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwalm
Ghostbusters: Afterlife, Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro

Best British Short Animation

WINNER: Affairs Of The Art, Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
RUNNER UP: Do Not Feed The Pigeons, Jordi Morera
Night Of The Living Dread, Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

Best British Short Film

WINNER: The Black Cop, Cherish Oteka
RUNNER UP: Three Meetings Of The Extraordinary Committee, Michael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon
Femme, Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The Palace, Jo Prichard
Stuffed, Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea

EE Rising Star (Voted for by the public)

WINNER: Ariana Debose
RUNNER UP: Lashana Lynch
Harris Dickinson
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-Mcphee

Follow Senior Film Critic Ben Rolph on Twitter: @THEDCTVSHOW

Follow Senior Film Critic Yasmine Kandil on Twitter: @byebyebucky

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.