Home » BAFTAs 2021: The Winners (Updating LIVE)

BAFTAs 2021: The Winners (Updating LIVE)

by Yasmine Kandil
The famous golden masks handed out to the 2021 winners at the BAFTAs.
This list will be updated LIVE starting on April 10th at 9 PM GMT/1 PM PT/ 4 PM ET

The 74th Annual British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards are upon us, with their most diverse pool of nominees to date. Aside from being a virtual event much like many other ceremonies during this peculiar award season, this year’s BAFTAs are unique in that they will be announcing the lucky winners across the evenings of the 10th and 11th of April.

Following our final predictions, we will be keeping you up to speed on the winners of each category as soon as they are revealed over the next two days. Continue checking back to see which of your favorite performers and filmmakers walk away with one of the famous BAFTA masks. With this being one of the last major ceremonies before the Academy Awards, the results here have the power to propel contenders ahead in the Oscars race for one last time. The nominations for the 2021 Academy Awards can also be found on DiscussingFilm.

Best Film

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)- WINNER
“The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)
“Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)
“The Mauritanian” (STX)
“The Father” (Sony Pictures Classics) 

Outstanding British Film

“Rocks” (Altitude)
“The Mauritanian” (STX) “The Father” (Sony Pictures Classics) 
“Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)-WINNER
“The Dig” (Netflix) “Saint Maud” (StudioCanal)
“His House” (Netflix)
“Calm With Horses”  (Altitude)
“Mogul Mowgli” (BFI) “Limbo” (Focus Features)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

“Rocks”, Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (writers)
“Saint Maud”, Rose Glass (writer/director), Oliver Kassman (producer) [also produced by Andrea Cornwell]
“His House”, Remi Weekes (writer/director)- WINNER
“Limbo”, Ben Sharrock (writer/director), Irune Gurtubai (producer) [also produced by Angus Lamont]
“Moffie”, Jack Sidey (writer/producer) [also written by Oliver Hermanus and produced by Eric Abraham]

Best Film Not In The English Language

“Another Round”- WINNER
“Quo Vadis, Aida?”
“Les Misérables”
“Dear Comrades!”

Best Documentary

“Collective” “My Octopus Teacher”- WINNER
“David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet”
“The Social Dilemma”
“The Dissident”

Best Animated Film

“Soul” (Pixar)- WINNER
“Wolfwalkers” (Cartoon Saloon)
“Onward” (Pixar)

Best Director

Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”- WINNER
Thomas Vinterberg, “Another Round”
Sarah Gavron, “Rocks”
Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari”
Jasmila Žbanić, “Quo Vadis, Aida?” Shannon Murphy, “Babyteeth”

Best Original Screenplay

Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman”- WINNER
Theresa Ikoko, “Claire Wilson, Rocks”
Tobias Lindholm, Thomas Vinterberg- “Another Round”
Aaron Sorkin, “The Trial of the Chicago 7”
Jack Fincher, “Mank”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, MB Traven, “The Mauritanian”
Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller, “The Father”- WINNER
Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”
Moira Buffini, “The Dig”
Ramin Bahrani, “The White Tiger”

Best Actress

Frances McDormand, ” Nomadland”- WINNER
Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman”
Bukky Bakray, “Rocks”
Wunmi Mosaku, “His House”
Alfre Woodard, “Clemency” Radha Blank, “The Forty-Year-Old Version”

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”
Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”
Anthony Hopkins, “The Father”- WINNER
Tahar Rahim, “The Mauritanian”
Mads Mikkelsen, “Another Round” Adarsh Gourav, “The White Tiger”

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh-jung, “Minari”- WINNER
Kosar Ali, “Rocks” Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
Dominique Fishback, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
Niamh Algar, “Calm With Horses” Ashley Madekwe, “County Lines”

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah”- WINNER
Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal”
Leslie Odom Jr, “One Night in Miami”
Alan Kim, “Minari”
Barry Keoghan, “Calm With Horses” Clarke Peters, “Da 5 Bloods”

Best Original Score

“Soul”, Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, and Atticus Ross- WINNER
“Mank”, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
“Minari”, Emile Mosseri
“News of the World”, James Newton Howard
“Promising Young Woman”, Anthony Willis

Best Casting

“Rocks” – WINNER
“Judas and the Black Messiah”
“Calm With Horses”
“Promising Young Woman”

Best Cinematography

“Nomadland”, Joshua James Richards- WINNER
“Judas and the Black Messiah”, Sean Bobbitt
“Mank”, Erik Messerschmidt
“News of the World”, Dariusz Wolski
“The Mauritanian”, Alwin H. Küchler

Best Editing

“The Trial of The Chicago 7”, Alan Baumgarten
“Sound of Metal”, Mikkel E.G. Nielsen- WINNER
“The Father”, Yorgos Lamprinos
“Nomadland”, Chloé Zhao
“Promising Young Woman”, Frédéric Thoraval

Best Production Design

“Mank” – WINNER
“News of the World”
“The Father”
“The Dig”

Best Costume Design

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” – WINNER
“The Dig”

Best Makeup and Hair

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” – WINNER
“Hillbilly Elegy”
“The Dig”

Best Sound

“Sound of Metal” – WINNER
“News of the World”

Best Visual Effects

“Tenet” – WINNER
“The Midnight Sky”
“The One and Only Ivan”

Best British Short Animation

“The Fire Next Time”
“The Song of a Lost Boy”
“The Owl and the Pussycat”- WINNER

Best British Short Film

“The Present” – WINNER
“Lucky Break”
“Miss Curvy”

EE Rising Star (Voted for by the public)

Kingsley Ben-Adir
Bukky Bakray- WINNER
Morfydd Clark
Conrad Khan
Ṣọpẹ Dìrísù

The Final Award Winners of 2021:

Follow Writer Yasmine Kandil on Twitter: @byebyebucky

Follow Senior Film Critic Ben Rolph on Twitter: @THEDCTVSHOW

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.