Home » Gotham Awards 2021: The Final Winners

Gotham Awards 2021: The Final Winners

by Diego Andaluz
A collage of Anya Taylor-Joy from THE QUEENS GAMBIT, Lee Jung-jae from SQUID GAME and Kristen Stewart from SPENCER, all expected to win big at the 2021 Gotham Awards.
This list will be updated LIVE starting at 5PM PT/ 8PM ET on Monday, November 29

The first notable awards ceremony in a packed season, the Gotham Awards were founded to shine a light on smaller productions that may or may not struggle to find success throughout the course of the year when faced with larger contenders. With all of the nominees having production budgets of $35 million or less, films like Dune, Don’t Look Up, and more are absent in favor of less conventional awards titles like The Green Knight, Passing, and Pig. Regardless of the size of budget, the films and shows nominated at this year’s Gotham Awards gathered notable amounts of love and praise with no trouble.

Today, we’ll be keeping you up to speed on the winners of each category as soon as they are announced. Artists receiving high tributes at the Gothams include Kristen Stewart for her outstanding performance in Spencer and Jane Campion for her directorial feats in The Power of The Dog – two names that are expected to go far this awards season, and for good reason. Continue checking back to see which of your favorite performers and filmmakers walk away with the highest awards at the 2021 Gotham Awards! You can also find the final winners for the 2021 OscarsGolden GlobesCritics Choice AwardsSAG AwardsBAFTAsMTV Awards, and HCA TV Awards right here on DiscussingFilm.

Honorary Awards

Performer Tribute: Kristen Stewart – “Spencer”
Performer Tribute: Peter Dinklage – “Cyrano”
Ensemble Tribute: The cast of The Harder They Fall
Director Tribute: Jane Campion – “The Power of The Dog”

Best Feature

“The Green Knight”
“The Lost Daughter” – WINNER
“Test Pattern”

Best Documentary Feature

“Faya Dayi”
“Flee” – WINNER
“Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Best International Feature

“Drive My Car” – WINNER
“The Souvenir Part II”
“What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?”
“The Worst Person In The World”

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Maggie Gyllenhaal – “The Lost Daughter” – WINNER
Edson Oda – “Nine Days”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”
Emma Seligman – “Shiva Baby”
Shatara Michelle Ford – “Test Pattern”

Best Screenplay

“The Card Counter” – Paul Schrader
“El Planeta” – Amalia Ulman
“The Green Knight” – David Lowery
“The Lost Daughter” – Maggie Gyllenhaal – WINNER
“Passing” – Rebecca Hall
“Red Rocket” – Sean Baker & Chris Bergoch

Outstanding Lead Performance

Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter” – WINNER
Frankie Faison – “The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain” – WINNER
Michael Greyeyes – “Wild Indian”
Brittany S. Hall – “Test Pattern”
Oscar Isaac – “The Card Counter”
Taylour Paige – “Zola”
Joaquin Phoenix – “C’mon C’mon”
Simon Rex – “Red Rocket”
Lili Taylor – “Paper Spiders”
Tessa Thompson – “Passing”

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Reed Birney – “Mass”
Jessie Buckley – “The Lost Daughter”
Colman Domingo – “Zola”
Gaby Hoffmann – “C’mon C’mon”
Troy Kotsur – “CODA” – WINNER
Marlee Matlin – “CODA”
Ruth Negga – “Passing”

Breakthrough Performer

Emilia Jones – “CODA” – WINNER
Natalie Morales – “Language Lessons”
Rachel Sennott – Shiva Baby”
Suzanna Son – “Red Rocket”
Amalia Ulman – “El Planeta”

Breakthrough Series – Long Format

“The Good Lord Bird”
“It’s A Sin”
“Small Axe”
“Squid Game” – WINNER
“The Underground Railroad”
“The White Lotus”

Breakthrough Series – Short Format

“Reservation Dogs” – WINNER
“Run the World”
“We Are Lady Parts”

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

“City So Real”
“Exterminate All the Brutes”
“How To with John Wilson”
“Philly D.A.” – WINNER

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

Jennifer Coolidge – “The White Lotus”
Michael Greyeyes – “Rutherford Falls”
Ethan Hawke – “The Good Lord Bird” – WINNER
Devery Jacobs – “Reservation Dogs”
Lee Jung-jae – “Squid Game”
Thuso Mbedu – “The Underground Railroad” – WINNER
Jean Smart – “Hacks”
Omar Sy – “Lupin”
Anya Taylor-Joy – “The Queen’s Gambit”
Anjana Vasan – “We Are Lady Parts”

The Final Award Winners of 2021:

Follow Awards Editor Diego Andaluz on Twitter: @thediegoandaluz

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.