Home » BAFTAs 2022: The Winners

BAFTAs 2022: The Winners

by Andrew J. Salazar
The esteemed golden actor mask statue handed out to the winners at the 2022 BAFTAs!

As the most prominent European voting group, the British Academy of Film and Television (best known as the BAFTAs) is celebrating its 2022 edition of the ceremony back at London’s Royal Albert Hall after last year’s partially online showcase. One of the few major associations to select their awards with the input of a limited jury, the BAFTAs always strive to make an impact by honoring diverse and esteemed artists from the best in global film while spotlighting British contenders and bringing them to the forefront of the race. In this 75th edition of the BAFTAs, the categories have proved to be as jam-packed and unpredictable as ever.

Tallying up the final results from the 2022 BAFTAs, Dune swept by earning 5 awards out of its 11 nominations. The Power of the Dog further cemented itself as a top contender this season by winning both Best Film and Best Director in Jane Campion. Also, CODA made some leaps in the race with another Supporting Actor win for Troy Kotsur and unexpectedly nabbing Best Adapted Screenplay. Other notable BAFTA achievements include Best original Screenplay for Licorice Pizza, Best Editing for No Time To Die, and Best Actress for Joanna Scanlan for her turnout in After Love.

Falling in line with previous years, 19 out of the overall 24 acting slots were filled by first-time nominees, making this a special night for more big winners like Ariana Debose and Will Smith. Read on to find out just how many more surprises (and possible snubs) took place in the final winners for the 2022 BAFTAs. You can also stay up to date this season with our very own awards predictions right here on DiscussingFilm!

Final Winners for the 2022 BAFTAs

Best Film

Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza
The Power Of The Dog – WINNER

Outstanding British Film

After Love
Ali & Ava
Belfast – WINNER
Boiling Point
Everybody’s Talking About Jaime
House of Gucci
Last Night in Soho
No Time To Die

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

After Love, Aleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling Point, James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
The Harder They Fall, Jeymes Samuel (writer/director) [Also written by Boaz Yakin] – WINNER
Keyboard Fantasies, Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Passing, Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Best Film Not In The English Language

Drive My Car – WINNER
The Hand Of God
Parallel Mothers
Petite Maman
The Worst Person In The World

Best Documentary

Becoming Cousteau
The Rescue
Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – WINNER

Best Animated Film

Encanto – WINNER
The Mitchells Vs The Machines

Best Director

After Love, Aleem Khan
Drive My Car, Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Happening, Audrey Diwan
Licorice Pizza, Paul Thomas Anderson
The Power Of The Dog, Jane Campion – WINNER
Titane, Julia Ducournau

Best Original Screenplay

Being the Ricardos
Don’t Look Up
King Richard
Licorice Pizza – WINNER

Best Adapted Screenplay

Drive My Car
The Lost Daughter
The Power of the Dog

Best Actress

Lady Gaga, House Of Gucci
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones, Coda
Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person In The World
Joanna Scanlan, After Love – WINNER
Tessa Thompson, Passing

Best Actor

Adeel Akhtar, Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali, Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power Of The Dog
Leonardo Dicaprio, Don’t Look Up
Stephen Graham, Boiling Point
Will Smith, King Richard – WINNER

Best Supporting Actress

Caitríona Balfe, Belfast
Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter
Ariana Debose, West Side Story – WINNER
Ann Dowd, Mass
Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Ruth Negga, Passing

Best Supporting Actor

Mike Faist, West Side Story
Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
Troy Kotsur, Coda – WINNER
Woody Norman, C’mon C’mon
Jesse Plemons, The Power Of The Dog
Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The Power Of The Dog

Best Original Score

Being The Ricardos, Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up, Nicholas Britell
Dune, Hans Zimmer – WINNER
The French Dispatch, Alexandre Desplat
The Power Of The Dog, Jonny Greenwood

Best Casting

Boiling Point, Carolyn Mcleod
Dune, Francine Maisler
The Hand Of God, Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard, Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
West Side Story, Cindy Tolan – WINNER

Best Cinematography

Dune, Greig Fraser – WINNER
Nightmare Alley, Dan Laustsen
No Time To Die, Linus Sandgren
The Power Of The Dog, Ari Wegner
The Tragedy Of Macbeth, Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing

Belfast, Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune, Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza, Andy Jurgensen
No Time To Die, Tom Cross, Elliot Graham – WINNER
Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised), Joshua L. Pearson

Best Production Design

Cyrano, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dune, Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos – WINNER
The French Dispatch, Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Nightmare Alley, Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side Story, Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Best Costume Design

Cruella, Jenny Beavan – WINNER
Cyrano, Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune, Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch, Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley, Luis Sequeira

Best Makeup and Hair

Cruella, Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Cyrano, Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
Dune, Love Larson, Donald Mowat
The Eyes Of Tammy Faye, Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh – WINNER
House Of Gucci, Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

Best Sound

Dune, Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett – WINNER
Last Night In Soho, Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time To Die, James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II, Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side Story, Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best Visual Effects

Dune, Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer – WINNER
Free Guy, Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife, Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections, Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwalm
No Time To Die, Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

Best British Short Animation

Affairs Of The Art, Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
Do Not Feed The Pigeons, Jordi Morera – WINNER
Night Of The Living Dread, Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

Best British Short Film

The Black Cop, Cherish Oteka – WINNER
Femme, Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The Palace, Jo Prichard
Stuffed, Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three Meetings Of The Extraordinary Committee, Michael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star (Voted for by the public)

Ariana Debose
Harris Dickinson
Lashana Lynch – WINNER
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-Mcphee

The Final 2022 Award Season Winners and Nominees:

Follow Managing Editor Andrew J. Salazar on Twitter: @AndrewJ626

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.