Home » Gotham Awards 2022: The Winners

Gotham Awards 2022: The Winners

by Andrew J. Salazar
A collage of Brendan Fraser from THE WHALE, Ke Huy Quan from EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE, and Cate Blanchett from TÁR, all competing to be winners at the 2022 Gotham Awards.
This list will be updated LIVE starting at 4PM PT/ 7PM ET on Monday, November 28!

The first notable ceremony of the awards season, the Gotham Awards aim to shine a light on smaller productions and underdogs alike before the heavy competition really kicks in. The 32nd Annual Gotham Awards have already recognized some of the very best of 2022 across 23 feature films, 15 series, and 35 performances in twelve award categories. Films with budgets over $35 million are not recognized at the Gotham Awards, so upcoming contenders like Noah Baumbach’s White Noise and Steven Spielberg’s The Fabelmans are absent in favor of more independent titles like Darren Aronofsky’s The Whale and the Daniels’ Everything Everywhere All At Once. No matter the size of budget, the films and shows highlighted at the 2022 Gotham Awards have already gained tons of love and praise with no trouble.

The 32nd Annual Gotham Awards will give additional performer tributes to Adam Sandler and Michelle Williams for their outstanding careers and contributions to independent film. Filmmaker Gina Prince-Bythewood is also getting a directing tribute for her bold career that spans from Love & Basketball to The Woman King. Todd Field’s TÁR leads the competition tonight with 5 nominations, but can it walk away with just as much against this year’s excellent nominees? Find out which of your favorite performers and filmmakers walk away with the highest wins at the 2022 Gotham Awards below! You can also refresh your memory and find the final winners here from this year’s OscarsEmmys, Golden GlobesCritics ChoiceBAFTAsMTV Awards, and our very own DiscussingFilm Critics Awards!

The Winners of the 2022 Gotham Awards

Honorary Awards

Performer Tribute: Adam Sandler
Performer Tribute: Michelle Williams
Ensemble Tribute: The cast of Fire Island
Director Tribute: Gina Prince-Bythewood

Best Feature

The Cathedral
Dos Estaciones
WINNER — Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Documentary Feature

WINNER — All That Breathes
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
I Didn’t See You There
The Territory
What We Leave Behind

Best International Feature

The Banshees of Inisherin
Decision to Leave
WINNER – Happening
Saint Omer

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Charlotte Wells, Aftersun
Owen Kline, Funny Pages
Elegance Bratton, The Inspection
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovi, Murina
Beth de Araújo, Soft & Quiet
Jane Schoenbrun, We’re All Going to the World’s Fair

Best Screenplay

After Yang, Kogonada
Armageddon Time, James Gray
Catherine Called Birdy, Lena Dunham
WINNER — TÁR, Todd Field
Women Talking, Sarah Polley

Outstanding Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett, TÁR
WINNER — Danielle Deadwyler, Till
Dale Dickey, A Love Song
Colin Farrell, After Yang
Brendan Fraser, The Whale
Paul Mescal, Aftersun
Thandiwe Newton, God’s Country
Aubrey Plaza, Emily the Criminal
Taylor Russell, Bones and All
Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Jessie Buckley, Women Talking
Raúl Castillo, The Inspection
Hong Chau, The Whale
Bryan Tyree Henry, Causeway
Nina Hoss, TÁR
Noémie Merlant, TÁR
WINNER — Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Mark Rylance, Bones and All
Gabrielle Union, The Inspection
Ben Whishaw, Women Talking

Breakthrough Performer

Anna Cobb, We’re All Going to the World’s Fair
Frankie Corio, Aftersun
Anna Diop, Nanny
WINNER – Gracija Filipovic, Murina
Kalie Reis, Catch the Fair One

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)

WINNER — Pachinko
Station Eleven
This is Going to Hurt

Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)

Abbott Elementary
As We See It
Rap Sh!t
Somebody Somewhere

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

The Andy Warhol Diaries
The Last Movie Stars
Mind over Murder
The Rehearsal
WINNER — We Need to Talk About Cosby

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

Bilal Baig, Sort Of
Ayo Edebiri, The Bear
Janelle James, Abbott Elementary
Minha Kim, Pachinko
Matilda Lawler, Station Eleven
Britt Lower, Severance
Melanie Lynskey, Yellowjackets
Zahn McClarnon, Dark Winds
Sue Ann Pien, As We See It
WINNER — Ben Whishaw, This is Going to Hurt

Follow Managing Editor Andrew J. Salazar on Twitter: @AndrewJ626

One needs a high level of stamina for these kinds of performances. Prohormones can act as catalysts to achieve your goals.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.